LIVE: Chiefs burst into life through supersub

LIVE: Chiefs burst into life through supersub

REDS vs FORCE, Saturday 7.45pm AEDT at Suncorp Stadium

Reds coach Brad Thorn has made just one change to his starting line-up with Ilaisa Droasese replacing fellow Fijian Filipo Daugunu on the left wing to play the Force.

Daugunu is unavailable for personal reasons.

“The Force are a quality team who we respect,” Thorn said.

“They have plenty of experience and will make the trip across from Perth looking for a result.

“We’re expecting a tough match against a good opposition.”

Meanwhile, Force coach Tim Sampson has surprisingly shifted former All Black Richard Kahui to the left wing, with Henry Taefu taking his place at inside centre.

Kahui, 35, started on the wing in the 2011 Rugby World Cup final but has been used as a powerful midfield presence so far this season.

This week he will be tasked with shutting down Reds dangerman Suliasi Vunivalu, who scored a try on his starting debut last round.

Up front, former Wallabies lock Sitaleki Timani starts ahead of Ryan McCauley while former Reds prop Greg Holmes will play his 150th Super Rugby game.

“It’s a huge honour,” Holmes said.

“Not many players make it to 150, so it’s pretty special.

“We’re confident and we’re putting in a lot of hard work.

“We’re going there to win this game.”

REDS (15-1): Jock Campbell, Suliasi Vunivalu, Jordan Petaia, Hunter Paisami, Ilaisa Droasese, James O’Connor (c), Tate McDermott, Harry Wilson, Fraser McReight, Angus Scott-Young, Lukhan Salakaia-Loto, Angus Blyth, Taniela Tupou, Alex Mafi, Dane Zander

Reserves: Brandon Paenga-Amosa, Harry Hoopert, Zane Nonggorr, Ryan Smith, Seru Uru, Kalani Thomas, Hamish Stewart, Bryce Hegarty

FORCE (15-1): Rob Kearney, Byron Ralston, Tevita Kuridrani, Henry Taefu, Richard Kahui, Jake McIntyre, Tomas Cubelli, Brynard Stander (c), Kane Koteka, Fergus Lee-Warner, Sitaleki Timani, Jeremy Thrush, Greg Holmes, Feleti Kaitu’u, Tom Robertson

Reserves: Jack Winchester, Angus Wagner, Santiago Medrano, Ryan McCauley, Tim Anstee, Ian Prior, Jack McGregor, Marcel Brache

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *